​Fort St. John Mayor Lori Ackerman named Canadian Energy Person of the Year

Fort St. John Mayor Lori Ackerman. Image: Alaska Highway News

Fort St. John, B.C. Mayor Lori Ackerman has earned national recognition.

Ackerman has been named the Canadian Energy Person of the Year by the Energy Council of Canada.

The organization says that Ackerman is is one of Canada’s top energy advocates.

“She is admired for her leadership of a resource-driven municipality, striking a balance between energy development, community representation, and First Nations partnerships “ the Energy Council said in a statement.

“Mindful of the challenges and opportunities that energy resource municipalities manage, Mayor Ackerman consistently advocates for economic and community development, technological innovation, and Canadian competitiveness.

“Her willingness to share lessons learned and to engage in dialogue regarding the relationship between local communities and Canada's energy sector marks her as a leader not only in her own community but across Canada.”

The Energy Council also noted Fort St. John’s efforts to diversify its own energy use.

“Fort St. John, under Mayor Ackerman's leadership, was presented Clean Energy B.C.'s Community of the Year Award and installed an in-line turbine on the City's gravity-fed effluent outfall line generating 780 MWh of energy each year.”

The award was established in 2001 to recognize Canadian leaders making an impact for the energy sector on a national and international level.

Last year the award was presented to Fort McKay First Nation Chief Jim Boucher.

Advocacy & Opinion

U.S. & International


Special Report